2012 Communication Theory Workshop

Home Call for Posters Program Registration Hotel Organizing Committee Local Attractions


IEEE IEEE ComSoc CTW 2011 CTW 2010 CTW 2009 CTW 2008 CTW 2007 CTW 2006 CTW 2005 CTW 2004



Latest Updates | Sponsors | Information


May 14-16, 2012

Advance Registration
April 5, 2012

Poster Submission Extended Deadline
March 7, 2012

Technical Program

Day 0, Sunday May 13

6:30 pm - 8:30 pmWelcome Reception

Day 1, Monday May 14

8:30 am - 9:30 amPlenary: Dr. Nambi Seshadri (Broadcom)
9:30 am - 9:45 amCoffee Break
9:45 am - 12:15 pmSession: Interference Management (organized by Dongning Guo, Northwestern University)
Speaker-1: David Tse (UC Berkeley) To Feedback or Not to Feedback? [slides]
Speaker-2: Soung Chang Liew (CUHK) Interference Management in Asynchronous Physical-layer Network Coding
Speaker-3: Upamanyu Madhow (UC Santa Barbara) Feeding the Smartphone: The Limits of Spatial Reuse in Picocells [slides]
Speaker-4: Ashutosh Sarbawal (Rice) Full-duplex Wireless
12:15 pm - 2:15 pm Lunch and Free Time
2:15 pm - 4:45 pmSession: Future Directions (organized by Andrea Goldsmith, Stanford University) [slides]
Speaker-1: Rob Calderbank (Duke) Focusing Mutual Information in Communications, Compressed Sensing and Radar
Speaker-2: Gerhard Fettweis (TU Dresden) Green Communications
3:30 pm - 3:45 pmCoffee Break
Speaker-3: Urbashi Mitra (USC) Telehealth [slides]
Speaker-4: Todd Coleman (UC San Diego) Communications, Neuroscience, and Brain-Machine Interfaces
5:00 pm - 6:30 pmPanel: Future Directions (organized by Reinaldo Valenzuela, Alcatel Lucent)
Panelist-1: Arogyaswami Paulraj (Stanford University)
Panelist-2: Nambi Seshadri (Broadcom)
Panelist-3: Sanjay Kasturia (Qualcomm)
Panelist-4: Jack Winters (JWC, LLC)
Panelist-5: Gerhard Fettweis (U. Dresden)
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm Poster Session and Reception

Day 2, Tuesday May 15

8:30 am - 9:30 amPlenary: Prof. Gregory W. Wornell (MIT)
9:30 am - 9:45 amCoffee Break
9:45 am - 12:15 pmSession: Wireless Networks (organized by Lei Ying, Iowa State University)
Speaker-1: P.R. Kumar (Texas A&M) (i) An Approach to Real-time Wireless Networking (ii) A Clean Slate Approach to a Secure Wireless Network: From Axioms to Protocols [slides]
Speaker-2: Jean Walrand (UC Berkeley) Economic Analysis of 4G Network Upgrade
Speaker-3: Francois Baccelli (INRIA, ENS)
Speaker-4: Peter Marbach (U Toronto)
12:15 pm - 2:15 pmLunch and Free Time
2:15 pm - 4:45 pmSession: Optimization in Networks (organized by Wei Yu, University of Toronto) [slides]
Speaker-1: Stephen Hanly (Macquarie University) New Insights in Coordinated Beamforming for Cellular Systems via Large System Analysis
Speaker-2: Mats Bengtsson (KTH) System Level Utility Optimization, Revisited [slides]
3:30 pm - 3:45 pmCoffee Break
Speaker-3: Zhi-Quan Luo (U Minnesota) Base Station Assignment and Transceiver Design for Heterogeneous Networks
Speaker-4: Rui Zhang (NUS) Cooperative Beamforming for MISO Interference Channel: Achievable Rates and Distributed Algorithms [slides]
5:00 pm - 6:30 pmPanel: Spectrum Management (organized by Anant Sahai, University of California, Berkeley)
Panelist-1: Linda Doyle (Trinity College, University of Dublin)
Panelist-2: Dirk Grunwald (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Panelist-3: Sastry Kompella (Naval Research Laboratory)
Panelist-4: David Borth (University of Illinois, Chicago)
7:30 pm - 10:00 pm Banquet

Day 3, Wednesday May 16

8:30 am - 9:30 amPlenary: Dr. Madhu Sudan (Microsoft Research, New England)
9:30 am - 9:45 amCoffee Break
9:45 am - 12:15 pmSession: Heterogeneous Networks (organized by Jeff Andrews, University of Texas, Austin) [slides]
Speaker-1: Sayandev Muhkerjee (Docomo) The Unreasonable Effectiveness of the Poisson Point Process in Analyzing Heterogeneous Cellular Networks [slides]
Speaker-2: David Love (Purdue) Wireless Backhaul Design for Small Cell Networks [slides]
Speaker-3: Alex Dimakis (USC) FemtoCaching: Wireless Video Content Delivery through Distributed Caching Helpers [slides]
Speaker-4: Durga Prasad Malladi (Qualcomm) Heterogeneous Networks in 3G and 4G [slides]

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License